

# **Murray Darling Association Inc.**

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au **T** (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

3rd Floor, 553 Kiewa Street P.O. Box 359 Albury, NSW 2640

# Region 6 Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 14th November 2017 9:30am Coorong District Council Chambers 95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend SA 5260

## Minutes

### 1. ATTENDANCE

### 1.1 Present: (Voting Members)

Barry Featherston	Alexandrina Council
Vern Leng	Coorong District Council
Keith Loeser	Individual Member
Malcolm Downie	Rural City of Murray Bridge
Michael Scott	Alexandrina Council
Julie Barrie	Coorong District Council
Frank Tuckwell	Alexandrina Council

#### Guests

Consultant
Coorong District Council staff
Coorong District Council staff
Murray Darling Basin Authority
Mayor, Coorong District Council
Individual Member
Individual Member
Alexandrina Council staff
CEO, Coorong District Council
(minute taker)

### 1.2 Apologies:

Miles Hannemann, Adriaan Sakko, Adrian Pederick MP, Clem Schubert, Neville Pfeiffer, Steve Wilkinson

### 2. WELCOME

- 2.1 Welcome to Coorong District Council, Housekeeping (Fire safety, Toilets, Catering)
- 2.2 Conflict of Interest

#### 3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

3.1 Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 30 August 2016

Moved Vern Leng Seconded Keith Loeser Carried

#### 4. BUSINESS ARISING

Nil business arising from minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 20 August 2016

#### 5. CHAIRPERSONS'S REPORT 2016/17

5.1 Region 6 Chair, Barry Featherston Chairperson's Report 2016/17 *Report was tabled. The Chair elaborated on his report.* 

Ian Mann commented on the NRM Boards, noting that Landcare Boards are struggling to continue operating, and surmised that the NRM Boards would be in a similar position. The Chair responded, stating that he believed the NRM Boards have sufficient funding.

Moved Michael Scott Seconded Keith Loeser Carried

Michael Scott congratulated the Chair on his efforts and work for and on behalf of Region 6 and the MDA over the past year.

#### 6. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS FOR 2017/18

In accordance with the Murray Darling Association Inc. Constitution 2016, the Returning Officer conducted the Election for Region Executive positions for Region 6 of the Murray Darling Association Inc.

Positions were: Region Chair

**Returning Officer:** Vincent Cammell, CEO Coorong District Council

Barry Featherston vacated the seat of Chair to allow the Returning Officer to conduct the election.

#### **Region Chair**

The following nominations for the position of **Region Chair** were received:

- Barry Featherston
- Julie Barrie

*Julie Barrie left the meeting, and the Returning Officer invited Barry Featherston to address the Region 6 with regard to his Chair nomination.* 

Barry Featherston left the meeting, and the Returning Officer invited Julie Barrie to return to the meeting and address the Region 6 with regard to her Chair nomination.

Barry Featherston returned to the meeting.

Voting forms were distributed and the count conducted by Vincent Cammell as returning officer and Ashlee Crossman as scrutineer.

The vote for Region 6 Chair was cast by secret ballot. Vincent Cammell called the result, advising that Barry Featherston had been successful and was elected Region Chair.

Barry Featherston resumed the position of Chair.

#### 7. MOTION - REGION EXECUTIVE

That Region 6 agrees to appoint the Chief Executive Officers, or their delegates, of Alexandrina Council, Coorong District Council and Rural City of Murray Bridge in addition to the Region 6 Chair Barry Featherston to the Region Executive.

Moved Julie Barrie Seconded Vern Leng

#### AMENDMENT

Moved Keith Loeser, Seconded Michael Scott that:

- 1. Region 6 agrees to appoint the Chief Executive Officers, or their delegates, of Alexandrina Council, Coorong District Council and Rural City of Murray Bridge in addition to the Region 6 Chair Barry Featherston and to the Region Executive.
- 2. A senior member of Region 6 be appointed to the Region Executive, who will also act as proxy Chair in the absence of the Chair.

#### Carried

#### MOTION

Moved Michael Scott, Seconded Vern Leng that Region 6 through preferential voting, has elected Julie Barrie as an experienced member as proxy Chair to the Region Executive.

Carried

Note: An Executive Officer will be appointed by the Region Executive to carry out secretarial and administration duties of Region 6 following a recruitment process as resolved by Alexandrina Council, Coorong District Council and Rural City of Murray Bridge.

### 8. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

8.1 Michael Scott thanked Coorong District Council for hosting MDA Region 6 meetings, and for their support for the past twelve months, and reiterated his thanks and appreciation of Chair Barry Featherston's contribution to Region 6.

### 9. NEXT MEETING

The next Annual General Meeting of the Murray Darling Association Region 6 will be held in 2018.

Date: To be advised Venue: To be advised

#### 10. CLOSE

Meeting closed at 10:16am



# **Murray Darling Association Inc.**

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au **T** (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

3rd Floor, 553 Kiewa Street P.O. Box 359 Albury, NSW 2640

# **Region 6 Ordinary Meeting**

Tuesday 14th November 2017(following the AGM) **Coorong District Council Chambers** 95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend SA 5260

## Minutes

#### 1. **ATTENDANCE**

#### 1.1 Present:

Barry Featherston	Alexandrina Council
Vern Leng	Coorong District Council
Keith Loeser	Individual Member
Malcolm Downie	Rural City of Murray Bridge
Michael Scott	Alexandrina Council
Julie Barrie	Coorong District Council
Frank Tuckwell	Alexandrina Council

#### Guests

Leonie Boothby	Consultant
Samantha Blight	Coorong District Council staff
Tracey Strugnell	Coorong District Council staff
Monique White	Murray Darling Basin Authority
Neville Jaensch	Mayor, Coorong District Council
Peter Smith	Individual Member
lan Mann	Individual Member
Shen Mann	Alexandrina Council staff
Vincent Cammell	CEO, Coorong District Council
Ashlee Crossman	(minute taker)

#### 1.2 **Apologies:**

Miles Hannemann, Adriaan Sakko, Adrian Pederick MP, Clem Schubert, Neville Pfeiffer, Steve Wilkinson

#### 2. WELCOME

**Conflict of Interest** 2.1

#### 3. **BUSINESS ARISING**

#### 3.1 Strategic Directions Workshop

To create a clear direction and shared understanding of the role of R6 and the areas it seeks to influence over the next twelve months, consultant Leonie Boothby facilitated a strategic directions workshop. Leonie will provide a report to Region 6 that will act as a catalyst for collaboration and action for R6. Members and guests were encouraged to participate together and collaboratively generate ideas and discussion points within the workshop.

### 4. ORDINARY BUSINESS

4.1 Due to the specific nature of this meeting, all ordinary business will be deferred until the next Region 6 meeting scheduled for December 2017.

### 5. NEXT MEETING

- 5.1 Date: December 21<sup>st</sup> 2017
- 5.2 Venue: Proposed Coorong District Council Chambers

### 6. CLOSE

Meeting closed at 12:30pm