

# **Murray Darling Association Inc.**

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

# **Region 1 Ordinary Meeting**

Date: Tuesday 30 January 2018, Start Time: 10.30am Location: Robert Brown Room, AlburyCity Council Address: 553 Kiewa Street, Albury NSW 2640

### **MINUTES**

# 1. ATTENDANCE 1.1 Present

Cr David Thurley AlburyCity Council – Chairman Region 1

AlburyCity Council Mayor Kevin Mack Andrew Lawson AlburyCity Council Federation Shire Council Cr Pat Bourke **Greg Whorlow** AlburyCity Council Wodonga City Council Cr Ron Mildren Mark Verbaken Wodonga Council Cr Tony Quinn Greater Hume Shire Cr Terry Weston Greater Hume Shire

Emma Bradbury Murray Darling Association
Cr David Wortmann Towong Shire Council

Cr Sarah Nicholas Alpine Shire

Sam Gitahi Murray Darling Basin Authority

Ray Stubbs RAMROC

Maria Barrett Albury City Council Secretariat
Paul Childs Office of Environment and Heritage

Luke Pearce DPI Fisheries

Cr Peter Hunter Renmark Paringa Council SA – Region 5 Chair Mayor Darriea Turley Broken Hill City Council – Region 4 Chair

Ray Stubbs RAMROC

Matthew Magin

Balonne Shire Council CEO – Region 12 executive

Balonne Shire Council – Region 12 secretariat

Andrew Reynolds
Cr John Campbell
Cr Barry Featherston
Shen Mann
Gunnedah Shire Council – Region 11
Gunnedah Shire Council – Region 11
Alexandrina Shire Council – Region 6 Chair
Alexandrina Shire Council – Region 6 Secretariat

Deputy Mayor Sharon Bland
Cr Julie Barrie
Cr Peter Mansfield
Bobby Brook
Mayor Denis Clark
Mayor Paul Maytom
Cr David Shetliffe
Coorong Council – Region 6 executive
Moira Shire Council – Region 2 Chair
Moira Shire Council – Region 2 executive
Northern Areas Council – Region 8 Chair
Leeton Shire Council – Region 9 Chair
Walkerville Town Council – Region 7 Chair

Angus Verley Murray Darling Association

### 1.2 Apologies

Craig Heiner Northeast Water
Heather Wilton Greater Hume Shire
Steve Pinnuck Greater Hume Shire
Adrian Wells Private Member
Brad Ferris AlburyCity Council

Moved: Cr Tony Quinn, Seconded: Cr David Wortmann

**Motion**: That the Apologies be accepted.

**CARRIED** 

# 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

Nil.

# 3. WELCOME

3.1 Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, AlburyCity Council

Mayor of AlburyCity Council, Cr Kevin Mack, welcomed all to the meeting.

3.2 Cr David Thurley - Chair Region 1

Cr Thurley declared the meeting opened.

### 3. MINUTES

Moved: Cr Tony Quinn, Seconded: Mark Verbaken

**Motion:** That the minutes of the last Murray Darling Association Region 1 Meeting be accepted.

CARRIED

# 5. REPORTS

# 5.1 Chairman's Report

Moved: Cr David Thurley, Seconded: Mark Verbaken

**Motion:** That the Chairman's Report by Cr David Thurley be received and noted.

**CARRIED** 

### 6. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Cr David Thurley was the only nomination received for the position of Chair, therefore is the Chair of the Murray Darling Association Region 1.

Cr David Wortmann was the only nomination received for the position of Vice Chair, therefore is the Vice Chair of the Murray Darling Association Region 1.

# 7. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2018

The meeting schedule for 2018 is:

Friday 18 May 2018

Friday 17 August 2018

Friday 16 November 2018

Meetings will be held in the Robert Brown Room, AlburyCity Council at 10.00am for morning tea, meeting to start at 10.30am.

#### 8. **GENERAL BUSINESS**

#### 8.1 **Meet the Board Members**

Region Chairs from across the Basin reported on issues and strategic priorities in their areas.

P Mansfield - Region 2

D Turley – Region 4 P Hunter – Region 5

B Featherstone - Region 6

D Shetliffe – Region 7

D Clarke - Region 8

P Mayton - Region 9

M McGinn - Region 10

Moved: Cr Tony Quinn, Seconded: Cr David Wortmann

Motion: That the reports by Region Chairs be received and noted.

**CARRIED** 

#### 9. STAKEHOLDER PRESENTATION - BLACKWATER EVENTS

### 7.1 Luke Pearce, NSW DPI Fisheries

Moved: Cr Pat Bourke, Seconded: Cr Tony Quinn

### Motion:

- a. That the Murray Darling Association (MDA) write to the Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH) to invite a strategic collaboration between OEH and the MDA in identifying and implementing 'next steps' in mitigating the severity and impacts of blackwater events.
- b. That the Murray Darling Association Region 1 members thanked Luke Pearce for the presentation.

**CARRIED** 

### 10. **NEXT MEETING:**

The next Murray Darling Association Region 1 ordinary meeting will be held at 10.30am on Friday 18 May 2018 in the Robert Brown Room, AlburyCity Council, 553 Kiewa Street Albury.

#### 11. **CLOSE**

The meeting closed at 11.50am

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks AlburyCity for arranging and hosting this meeting of Region 1.