

Murray Darling Association Inc.

Region 6 Annual General Meeting 5 February 2021 11:00 -12:00

Coorong District Council Chambers

95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend SA 5260

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81909353295?pwd=SHAyVWdmWnB2eGFIUzk5N2VDckxsdz09

Meeting ID: 819 0935 3295 Passcode: 697708

MINUTES – AGM 2021

1. WELCOME and AKNOWLEDGMENT of COUNTRY – Cr Meissa Rebeck

2. ATTENDANCE

2.1. Present

Cr Rebbeck (Chair)	Alexandrina Council
CEO Glenn Rappensberg	Alexandrina Council
GM Heather Barclay	Rural City of Murray Bridge (RSMB)
Stephen Packer	Rural City of Murray Bridge (RSMB)
Cr Vern Leng	Coorong District Council (CDC)
Cr Brenton Qualmann	Coorong District Council
Bridget Mather	Coorong District Council (CDC)
Cr Marilyn Henderson (online)	City of Victor Harbor (COVH)
Bruce Brooks	Independent

2.2. Apologies

Mayor Brenton Lewis	Rural City of Murray Bridge (RSMB)
Cr Michael Scott	Alexandrina Council
Cr. Vern Leng	Coorong District Council (CDC)
Cr Miles Hannemann	Tatiara District Council (TDC)
CEO Jason Taylor	Southern Mallee District Council (SMDC)
Collin Grundy	Independent
Adrian Pederick MP JP	Independent

2.3. Guests

CEO/Returning Officer Emma Bradbury	Murray Darling Association (MDA)
(online)	
EO Nathan Bicknell	Region 6

2.4. Observers

Cr. Tracy Hill	Coorong District Council (CDC)

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil

4. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM

14 February 2020

Motion: that the minutes of the AGM held 14 February 2020, be approved as an accurate record of that meeting.

Cr Brenton Qualmann/Heather Barclay/Carried

5. BUSINESS ARISING

Nil

6. REPORTS

- 6.1. Chair's Report: Cr Mellissa Rebeck spoke to her report, the key topics covered included:
- Meetings of MDA-R6
- Strategic Plan of MDA
- Climated Change Statement
- National Motions
- Breaking of the Drought
- Pandemic
- Presentations
- MRLGA Water Position Paper, and
- Thanks to the memebrs as well as the MDA Staff for an exceptional bosy of work 2020.
- 6.2. <u>CEO's Report</u> CEO Emmma Bradbury of the MDA spoke to her report as tabled, key topics covered included:

Year in review:

- Acknowledgement of the work and leadershiop of Region 6 in 2020
- Science CSIRO
- Consultation Standards
- Strategic Plan
- Regional Engagement Toolkit

Year to come: In leu of attending the Ordinary meeting to follow

- Scienc and Eductaion CSIRO committee nomintations from members
- National Conference 2021 May 17-19 Wentworth "Connectivity", registration website live
- Leadership Program Dates for SA, Project Manager (Lauren), seeking recommendations for local facilitators
- Engagement Program Emma likely to be visiting in SA in June
- Succession Planning Emma to be moving on in Septerber, advertisement of Chief Executive, and Executive Officer postions.

Discussion: Focused upon the work arrangements for the advertised positions, developing of the Regional Engagement Toolkit (Region 6's structure, agenda and papers seen as the gold standard).

Motion: that the Members receive the reports. Bridget Mather/Heather Barclay/Carried

7. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

7.1. Election of Region 6 Chair

The following nomination for the position of Region 6 Chair were received before the closing date 28 Jan 2021:

• Cr Melissa Rebbeck - Alexandrina Council

As only one nomination has been received for the position of Region Chair, the Retuning Officer – MDA CEO Emma Bradbury declared; Cr Rebbeck of Alexandrina Council duly elected to the position. As distributed by email to Members on the 28 Jan 2021.

Motion: that the members note this outcome.

Returning Officer Emma Bradbury/Heather Barclay/Carried

7.2. Election of Region 6 Executive

The following nominations for the position of Region 6 Executive were received before the closing date 28 Jan 2021:

- Bridget Mather Coorong District Council
- Glenn Rappensberg Alexandrina Council
- Heather Barclay Rural City of Murray Bridge

As only three nominations have been received for the positions of Executive Committee, the Retuning Officer declared; the above Members duly elected to the position. As distributed by email to Members on the 28 Jan 2021. The Region has taken the position that the elected Chair is also an ex-officio member of the Executive.

Motion: that the Members note this outcome.

Returning Officer Emma Bradbury/Cr Brenton Qualmann/Carried

8. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2021

In consultation with the Executive the EO has prepared a Draft Calendar of meetings and Events 2021 for approval.

Recomendation that the Draft Calendar of Meetings and Events be deferred to the Ordinary Meeting.

9. GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

10. STAKEHOLDERS PRESENTATION

Nil

11. CLOSE

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks Coorong District Council for its support in hosting this meeting of Region 6.

Regional Electoral Role for AGM – List of paid members 6.0 REGIONS

6.8 Each member Local Government municipality may appoint:

6.8.3 Up to five representatives to the relevant region. At least one representative shall be an elected member.

6.8.4 A Local Government municipality may appoint amongst its representatives members of the public.

6.8.6 Any representative may appoint in writing directed to the chairman of the region an alternative representative, who shall have all the powers of the representative.

Membership type	Member name		Voting Delegates (LGAs may nominate up to 5)	Voting Card Issued (please initial)
LGA	Alexandrina Council	1	Glenn Rappensberg	
	Popl 27,418	2	Cr Michael Scott	
	3 votes	3	Cr Melissa Rebbeck	
		4		
		5		
LGA	Coorong District Council	1	Cr Vern Leng	
	Popl 5,463	2	Cr Brenton Qualmann	
	2 votes	3	CEO Bridget Mather	
		4		
		5		
LGA	Tatiara District Council	1	Cr Miles Hannemann	
	Popl 6,794	2		
	2 votes	3		
		4		
		5		

LGA	The Rural City of Murray Bridge	1	Mayor Brenton Lewis	
	Popl 21,735	2	Heather Barclay	
	3 votes	3	Stephen Packer	
		4		
		5		
LGA	Southern Mallee District Council	1	Jason Taylor	
	Popl 2,094	2		
	2 votes	3		
		4		

		5		
LGA	City of Victor Harbor	1	Marilyn Henderson	
	Popl 15, 248	2		
	2 votes	3		
		4		
		5		
Individual	Frank Tuckwell OAM	1	Frank Tuckwell OAM	
Individual	Bruce Brooks	1	Bruce Brooks	
Individual	Adrian Pederick, MP JP	1	Adrian Pederick	
Individual	Warren Jacobs	1	Warren Jacobs	
Individual	Colin Grundy	1	Colin Grundy	
Life Member	Graham Camac	1	Mr Graham Camac (Interstate)	
Leave of Absence	Julie Barrie		Julie Barrie	
Leave of Absence	Keith Loeser		Keith Loeser (Leave of absence)	