

Murray Darling Association Inc.

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

Region One Annual General Meeting

Friday 30 Thursday 2018, 10.00am for 10.30am start AlburyCity Council, Robert Brown Room, 553 Kiewa Street Albury

AGENDA

1. ATTENDAN	

- 1.1 Present
- 1.2 Apologies
- 1.3 Declaration of Interests

2. WELCOME

Cr Thurley to welcome members and guest

3. MINUTES

Minutes of the previous meeting held on Friday 24 August 2018, in Albury NSW

- 4. BUSINESS ARISING
- 5. YANCO CREEK FEDERATION COUNCIL
- 6. REPORTS
 - 6.1 Chairman's Report
 - 6.2 CEO's Report
- 7. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS
- 8. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2019
- 9. GENERAL BUSINESS

10. STAKEHOLDERS PRESENTATION

11.1 Anthony Wilson, CEWH, Wodonga Office

DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Meeting schedule being fourth Friday in Feb, May, Aug and Nov.

CLOSE

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks AlburyCity Council for their support in hosting this meeting of Region One



Murray Darling Association Inc.

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

CEO's Report November 2018

Previous appointments

Date	Appointment	Location
October 5-10	Meetings with New South Wales Department of Industry National Carp Control Plan Commonwealth Environmental Water Office Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Murray-Darling Basin Authority CSIRO	Canberra
October 24	Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Program public meeting	Echuca
October 26	Productivity Commission Murray-Daring Basin Plan: Five- year assessment draft report public hearing	Canberra
October 26	Hon. David Littleproud, Federal Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources	Canberra
November 1	Independent review of the Murray-Darling Basin joint governance agreements	Canberra
November 2	Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Program public meeting	Deniliquin
November 8	Hon. Tony Burke, Shadow Minister for Environment and Water	Melbourne
November 15	Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Program local government consultation session	Echuca
November 21-27	Tour of Region 10, 11 and 12	Various locations

Productivity Commission Murray-Daring Basin Plan: Five-year assessment draft report

The MDA submitted a 10-page submission to the draft report, which is accessible on both the Productivity Commission and MDA websites.

Public hearings were held in Mildura, Murray Bridge, Shepparton, Dubbo and Canberra during October, with the MDA speaking to its submission at the Canberra event.

Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Program

The Department of Agriculture and Water Resources held 14 public meetings between October 22 and November 6 regarding this program. Four sessions will occur across northern Victoria and southern New South Wales between November 14 and 16.

The MDA has produced a submission regarding the program, available to download from the Our Reports section of the MDA website.

A local government consultation session occurred in Echuca on Thursday, November 15.

Progress on AGM resolutions

Progress relating to resolutions from the past five Murray Darling Association annual general meetings are now available to view online

A website has been created, documenting the outcomes of motions considered during previous AGMs held at Tumut (2014), Barooga (2015), Dubbo (2016), Renmark (2017) and Leeton (2018).

The website has been designed to allow members and stakeholders to track the work of the MDA. Copies of correspondence sent to the relevant government or agency regarding each resolution, as well as responses received, are available to download.

To access the pages, visit the MDA website and click on the "Conference Resolutions" link, located in the Annual Conference menu.

National Conference

Balonne Shire Council and Toowoomba Regional Council will co-host the Murray Darling Association's Jubilee 75th National Conference.

The there-day event will be held at Toowoomba from Tuesday, October 22 to Thursday, October 24, 2019. The conference - themed *ReGeneration...* for a healthy Basin - will focus on various topics, including regenerative agriculture, renewable energy opportunities; climate change; and the continued implementation of the Basin Plan.

Registrations will open soon, with event details to be available on the MDA website.





Echuca, Vic 3564



Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Program Local government consultation session

Mercure Port of Echuca Thursday, November 15, 2018 2.30pm-5.30pm

ATTENDEES

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Paul Morris	First Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Fleur Downard	A/g Director, Efficiency Measures Policy Section

Regional peak bodies

Murray River Group of Councils	Member councils:
Mayor Cheryl McKinnon – Chair	Campaspe Shire Council
(Loddon Shire Council)	o Gannawarra Shire Council
Geoff Turner – Executive Officer	o Loddon Shire Council
	Mildura Rural City Council
	Moira Shire Council
	Swan Hill Rural City Council
Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation	Member councils:
Mayor Kevin Mack – Chair	Albury City Council
(Albury City Council)	o Berrigan Shire
Ray Stubbs – Executive Officer	Carrathool Shire Council
	o Edward River Council
	Federation Council
	o Griffith City Council
	Hay Shire Council
	 Leeton Shire Council
	Murray River Council
	Murrumbidgee Council
	Narrandera Shire Council

Council representatives

City of Greater Bendigo	Cr James Williams
Berrigan Shire	Cr Ross Bodey
	Cr Roger Reynoldson
Buloke Shire Council	Cr David Pollard
Campaspe Shire Council	Mayor Adrian Weston
	Cr Neil Pankhurst
	Cr John Zobec
	Jason Russell - Chief Executive Officer

Edward River Council	Mayor Norm Brennan
	Adam McSwain – General Manager
Federation Council	Mayor Patrick Bourke
Griffith City Council	Mayor John Dal Broi
	Brett Stonestreet – General Manager
Greater Shepparton City Council	Peter Harriott – Chief Executive Officer
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom
Loddon Shire Council	Mayor Cheryl McKinnon
	Cr Neil Beattie
	Phil Pinyon – Chief Executive Officer
Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield
	Mark Henderson – Chief Executive Officer
Murray River Council	Mayor Chris Bilkey
Department of Agriculture and Water	Paul Morris - First Assistant Secretary, Water
Resources	Division
	Fleur Downard - A/g Director, Efficiency Measures
	Policy Section

APOLOGIES

Des Bilske	General Manager, Murray River Council
Adrian Butler	General Manager, Federation Council
Cr Melisa Hederics	Mayor, Wentworth Shire Council
Gerard Jose	Chief Executive Officer, Mildura Rural City Council
Anthony Judd	Chief Executive Officer, Buloke Shire Council
Craig Niemann	Chief Executive Officer, City of Greater Bendigo
Cr Dennis Patterson	Greater Shepparton City Council
Rowan Perkins	General Manager, Berrigan Shire
Ken Ross	Acting General Manager, Wentworth Shire Council

Thirteen councils and two regional peaks, covering 20 local government areas and representing 483,224 people across northern Victoria and southern New South Wales, met on November 15 with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources regarding the Murray-Darling Basin Water Infrastructure Project socioeconomic impact assessment criteria.