

# **Murray Darling Association Inc.**

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, 553 Kiewa Street P.O. Box 359 Albury, NSW 2640

## MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF Region 9

Held on Tuesday, 12th December 2017 commencing at 10.15am in Leeton Shire Council Chambers, 23-25 Chelmsford Place Leeton NSW 2705

### AGENDA

#### 1. ATTENDANCE

1.1 Present

Cr Paul Maytom Mrs Jackie Kruger Mrs Ruth McRae Mr Graeme Haley Mr Jason Ip Mr Mark Gooden Cr Weslev Hall Cr Neville Kschenka Mr Bede Mecham Cr Dino Zappacosta Cr John Dal Broi Mr Joe Burns Ms Emma Bradbury Mr Angus Verley Mr Phil Townsend Mrs Liz Stott Mrs Melissa Seymour

Mayor, Leeton Shire Council GM, Leeton Shire Council Mayor, Murrumbidgee Council GM, Riverina Water Manager Operations, Riverina Water Private Member Narrandera Shire Council Mayor, Narrandera Shire Council Life Member **Griffith City Council** Mayor, Griffith City Council **Private Member** CEO, MDA Support Officer, MDA **MDBA Regional Engagement Officer, MDBA** EA, Leeton Shire Council

#### 1.2 Apologies

Cr Rodger Schirmer Peter Veneris Greg Verdon Bede Spannagle Mick Rutledge Paul Furnell Russell Campbell Mayor, Lockhart Shire Council GM, Lockhart Shire Council RWCC RWCC Hay Shire Council Wagga Wagga Council Carrathool Council

Moved that the apologies be accepted Cr Neville Kschenka/Cr Ruth McRae

#### 2. WELCOME

Chair of Region 9 – Paul Maytom (Mayor of Leeton Shire Council) welcomed members to Leeton and acknowledged the Wiradjuri People as the traditional owners of the land.

He commented on the excellent quality of the Conference in Renmark in 2017.

#### 3. MINUTES

3.1 Minutes of the previous meeting on 23<sup>RD</sup> November 2017 were declared as read and accepted. Moved by Mr Joe Burns and second by Cr Wesley Hall.

#### 4. **REPORTS**

4.1 Cr Maytom provided a verbal report for the year that focused on his activity, including attendance at EWAG meetings, the MDBA Roundtable in Griffith and the Water NSW Customer Advisory Group.

He spoke of the SDL mechanisms that were discussed at the MDBA Roundtable to achieve the 450GL and efficiency measures (not required to be delivered until 2024). He was concerned re comments from the MDBA that the 450GL could be purchased from willing sellers and is worried that this could have an adverse impact on our communities.

Cr Maytom spoke about the success of the Annual MDA Conference in Renmark and how it is good to see efficiency measures that are being implemented through the basin.

Cr Maytom also advised that he will work with the MDA CEO to encourage Councils who are not involved in Region 9 to participate.

Cr Maytom thanked the delegates for their ongoing participation in MDA Region 9, and thanked MDA and Leeton Shire Council staff for their ongoing support.

#### 4.2 CEO of MDA (Emma Bradbury):

Strategic direction of MDA – Emma acknowledged and thanked all for attending the AGM. Emma highlighted the experienced and engaged officers in Region 9 and is looking forward to the year ahead.

Emma referenced the AGM 2016 progress on motions and resolutions and was happy for them to be taken as read. MDA are open to questions, all in Region 9 were asked to review the handout. Information will be provided throughout the year ahead on the progress of the motions from the 2017 AGM. Close to the heart of Region 9 is the continuing dialog on the opportunities to look at the diversion of the Clarence, supported by Cr Zappacosta. The executive role is to pursue those asperations of councils that emerge at the regional level.

Planning workshop 2018 and Canberra meetings will be discussed in the Ordinary Meeting following the AGM.

#### 5. CONFIRMATION OF RETURNING OFFICER, CEO MDA

#### 6. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

6.1 Chairman – Only one nomination for position of Chair that of Cr Paul Maytom was received and therefor duly re-elected. Emma asked that the Region accept nomination and election of Cr Maytom to position of Chair.

Move and carry resolution - by Cr Ruth McCrae and second by Mr Graeme Haley.

It was noted under the new Constitution - validity of the nominating Council needs to support not

only nomination of the Chair but to provide secretariat support.

6.2 Regional Executive Members (minimum 2/maximum 5) – nominations of the executive were called for, Cr John Dal Broi announced he would not continue on the executive and wished to withdraw and nominated Cr Dino Zappacosta who accepted.

Cr Kschenka nominated Cr Wesley Hall of Narrandera Cr Paul Maytom nominated Mr Joe Burns Mr Graeme Haley nominated Mr Bede Spannagle Mr Graeme Haley nominated Mr Paul Furnell

Nominations were accepted.

Cr Dino Zappacosta, Cr Wesley Hall, Mr Joe Burns, Mr Bede Spannagle and Mr Paul Furnell were duly re-elected as executive Members of Region 9.

Mr Jason Ip announced he would be proxy for Mr Bede Spannagle and will attend all meetings in his absence.

#### 7. SETTING OF MEETING DATES FOR 2018

Suggested third Thursday of February, May, August, and November 2018.

Cr Maytom made a request that each Region 9 Member Council send through current phone and email addresses.

Next AGM Meeting date Thursday, 15 November 2018, Leeton Shire Council Chambers 23-25 Chelmsford Place Leeton NSW 2705

CLOSE – The meeting closed at 11.50am

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks Leeton Shire Council for their support in hosting this meeting of Region 9