

Murray Darling Association Inc.

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Region 9

Held on Thursday, 23 November 2018 commencing at 10.00am in Leeton Shire Council Chambers, 23-25 Chelmsford Place Leeton NSW 2705

AGENDA

1. WELCOME

Chair of Region 9 – Paul Maytom (Mayor of Leeton Shire Council) welcomed members to Leeton and acknowledged the Wiradjuri People as the traditional owners of the land.

2. ATTENDANCE

2.1 Attendance

Cr Paul Maytom Mrs Jackie Kruger Mrs Ruth McRae Mr Bede Spannagle Mr Russell Campbell Cr Wesley Hall Mr Bede Mecham Mr Brett Stonestreet Cr John Dal Broi Mr Joe Burns Mrs Melissa Seymour

2.2 Apologies

Cr Rodger Schirmer Peter Veneris Greg Verdon Bede Spannagle Mick Rutledge Paul Furnell Russell Campbell Mayor, Leeton Shire Council GM, Leeton Shire Council Mayor, Murrumbidgee Council RWCC Carrathool Council Narrandera Shire Council Life Member Griffith City Council Mayor, Griffith City Council Private Member EA, Leeton Shire Council

Mayor, Lockhart Shire Council GM, Lockhart Shire Council RWCC RWCC Hay Shire Council Wagga Wagga Council Carrathool Council

Moved that the apologies be accepted Cr Ruth McRae / Cr Russell Campbell

3. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Nil Interests

4. MINUTES

4.1 Minutes of the previous meeting on 12th December 2017 were declared as read and accepted. Moved by Cr Maytom and second by Mr Joe Burns.

5. BUSINESS ARIDING

Cr Ruth McRae congratulated Leeton Shire Council on hosting a very successful MDA 74th Annual National Conference.

Moved motion of acknowledgement for LSC Cr McRae / Cr Wesley Hall

6. **REPORTS**

6.1 Cr Maytom declared that he would provide a verbal report at the Ordinary Meeting following the AGM.

Cr Maytom thanked the delegates for their ongoing participation in MDA Region 9, and thanked MDA and Leeton Shire Council staff for their ongoing support.

6.2 Noted as attachment to Agenda

7. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

7.1 Chairman – Only one nomination for position of Chair that of Cr Paul Maytom was received and therefore duly re-elected. Emma Bradbury confirmed via email on accepting Region nomination and election of Cr Maytom to position of Chair.

Move and carry resolution - by Cr Ruth McCrae and second by Mr Bede Mecham.

7.2 Regional Executive Members (minimum 2/maximum 5) – nominations of the executive were called for, Cr John Dal Broi announced he would wished to nominate General Manager Griffith City Council Brett Stonestreet to replace Cr Dino Zappacosta.

Remaining executive from previous term to be re-elected.

Nominations were accepted.

Cr Wesley Hall, Mr Joe Burns, Mr Bede Spannagle, Mr Paul Furnell and Mr Brett Stonestreet were duly elected as executive Members of Region 9.

8. GENERAL BUSINESS

Cr Maytom discussed the importance of the executive and will request further information from MDA CEO regarding the role of the executive.

9. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2019

Suggested dates – 7 March 2019, 7 June 2019, 29 August 2019 and 7 November 2019

Cr Maytom stipulated that 4 meetings are to occur as per the MDA Constitution.

Cr Campbell made suggestion that March date should be bought forward. Final meeting date to be advised.

Next AGM Meeting date Thursday, 7 November 2019, Leeton Shire Council Chambers 23-25 Chelmsford Place Leeton NSW 2705

CLOSE – The meeting closed at 10.19am

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks Leeton Shire Council for their support in hosting this meeting of Region 9