

Murray Darling Association Inc.

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

Region 7 Ordinary Meeting No 109 MINUTES

1. WELCOME Meeting commenced at 6:55pm following the closure of the Annual General Meeting

2. ATTENDANCE

2.1 Present:		
Cr Andrew Tilley	Chair, City of Mitcham	
Mrs Jamie Barrett	Secretary, City of Mitcham	
Cr Shirley Halls	City of Playford	
Mr Liam Goodrich	Guest of City of Playford	
Cr Stephen Coppins	City of Playford	
Ms Pauline Frost	Life Member	
Mayor Heather Holmes-Ross	City of Mitcham	
Tariq Laatt <mark>oe</mark>	Water Technology Pty Ltd	
Cr Kym McKay	City of West Torrens	
Ms Patricia Bozin	Guest of City of Mitcham	
Mr Peter S <mark>he</mark> pherd	Former Executive Director, Weathered Howe /	
	Hyder Consulting	
Cr John Kennedy	City of Campbelltown	
Mr Ray Najar	Individual Member	
Cr Therese Bonomi	City of Campbelltown	
Cr Johanna McLuskey	City of Campbelltown	
Cr Olivia Savvas	City of Tea Tree Gully	
Mr Gary Goland	Individual Member	
Cr Geoff Eaton	City of Onkaparinga	
Cr Robin Coleman	City of Tea Tree Gully	
Mr Mark Konecy	Manager Civil & Water Operations, City of Tea	
	Tree Gully	
V Veliskou	Visitor from City of Marion	
Mr Denis Davey	Visitor from City of Playford	
Cr Darren Kruse	City of Mitcham	
Mr Thornton Harfield	General Manager Strategic Projects & Assets,	
	City of Playford	

2.2 Apologies:

Mayor Erin Thompson	City of Onkaparinga	
Mr Peter Bice	Director Infrastructure and Operations	
	Adelaide Hills Council	
Mayor Elizabeth Fricker	Town of Walkerville	
Cr Jessica Lintvelt	City of Tea Tree Gully	
Cr Sue Irvine	City of Campbelltown	

- 3. CHAIRMAN'S OPENING AND WELCOME TO NEW MEMBERS Was covered in the AGM
- 4. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

There were no Declarations of Interest declared

5. MINUTES

MOVED Cr Shirley Halls

That the Minutes of Meeting No 108 of Adelaide Metro Region 7 held on Thursday 28 February 2019 be confirmed

SECONDED Cr John Kennedy

CARRIED

6. MURRAY DARLING ASSOCIATION BOARD MINUTES

Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the Board Meeting No 384 held on 25 March 2019 can be viewed by clicking on the following link.

Minutes of the Ordinary Meetings of the MDA Board

7. REPORTS

Ms Emma Bradbury, CEO, MDA spoke to her March and April CEO Reports and also welcomed Cr Andrew Tilley to the position of Chair for Region 7, she is happy with the representation and dedication that is showing for Region 7.

Cr Andrew Tilley addressed the room and discussed a meeting he had with the Hon. David Spiers, Minister for Environment and Water, he is very supportive of the MDA and Cr Andrew Tilley hopes to make a regular meeting before each scheduled meeting of the region mving forward.

8. GUEST SPEAKER

Dr Tariq Laattoe BSc (hons) PhD

Hydrogeologist and Groundwater Modeller at Water Tehnology Pty Ltd

Murray Water Basin Salinity in SA: Past to Present :- A discussion of the origin of the salt, its impacts and how we have managed it.

At the conclusion of Dr Laattoe's presentation, he took questions from the floor

At 8:02pm Cr Darren Kruse asked to take the floor to acknowledge the passing of Bob Hawke, and spoke to the instrumental actions Bob had taken towards environmental issues and the Murray Darling Basin Authority – this is reflected in his achievements:

5			
1982 – 1983	Pledged to stop the Gordon-below-Franklin Dam project if elected		
1983 – 1991	Prime Minister of Australia		
1985	John Bannon, Premier of South Australia & Bob Hawke worked towards		
	better cooperation		
1987	Murray Darling Basin Commission established		
1989	First interstate Environmental Agreement – to manage salinity etc.		
1989	Created Landcare Australia Organisation		
1993	Murray Darling Basin Act introduced		

9. GUEST SPEAKER Mr Ray Najar

Former CEO and General Manager of Murray Darling Association 2003-2014

Presentation outlining some key issues of importance out of the many that the Murray Darling Basin and its residents are facing. Some of these issues included Southern Lagoon water source, the declining width of the Murray Mouth, fish kills and the Basin Salinity Management Strategy.

Presentation included a short video from the BoM website: https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLbKuJrA7Vp7naJL31deES8QAV5E0q6U_H&v=grFRUXPY8LI

Powerpoint presentation has been emailed out with a copy of the minutes.

10. CORRESPONDENCE RECEIVED (refer to agenda for copies)

- 10.1 Email dated 27 March 2019 South East Flows Restoration Project Natural Resources South East
- 10.2 Email dated 26 March 2019 Carp Virus
- 10.3 Email dated 4 April 2019 Murray Darling Association: Basin Communities Leadership Program
- 10.4 Email dated 29 March 2019 MDA's response to Federal Labor's announcement on the Murray Darling Basin Plan
- 10.5 Email dated 18 March 2019 ABC News: Dams are empty and NSW is drowning in dust
- 10.6 Email dated 21 April 2019 Goyder Institute recommends key actions to secure the future of the Coorong's South Lagoon
- 10.7 Email dated 3 April 2019 MDA Media Release Reaction to Budget 2019
- 10.8 Email dated 21 April 2019 Coorong Summit Summary Report
- 10.9 Email dated 21 April 2019 Science advice from the Goyder Institute
- 10.10 Email dated 6 May 2019 Water Buybacks: The Sunday Project

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

11.1 Refresh, Update and Induction for Members of Region 7 Delegates For your information, below are links to useful reference documents to understand the MDA and role of Region 7:

MDA Induction and Resource Kit Murray Darling Association Strategic Plan 2016 - 2019 Murray Darling Association Constitution Murray Darling Association Fact Sheet 2015 Murray Darling Association Regional Leadership FAQs Murray Darling Association AGM Resolutions 2018

11.2 New committee – it was requested that the contact details for the newly elected committee be added to the minutes.

Position	Name	Council	Email
Chair of Region 7	Cr Andrew Tilley	City of Mitcham	atilley@mitchamcouncil.sa.gov.au
Regional Executive Officer	Cr Robin Coleman	City of Tea Tree Gully	robin.coleman@cttg.sa.gov.au
Regional Executive Officer	Cr John Kennedy	Campbelltown City Council	cr.kennedy@campbelltown.sa.gov.au

Regional Executive Officer	Cr Kym McKay	West Torrens City Council	kmckay@wtcc.sa.gov.au
Regional Executive Officer	Cr Shirley Halls	City of Playford	crshalls@playford.sa.gov.au
Regional Executive Officer	Cr Geoff Eaton	City of Onkaparinga	Geoff.Eaton@onkaparinga.sa.gov.au

11.3 Press Contact

Mr Ray Najar has recommended a press contact that he uses – Paula Thompson (<u>paula.thompson@news.com.au</u>). He feels that good publicity should be an ongoing goal of the committee moving forward.

- 11.4 Cr John Kennedy would like to develop a working relationship with the LGA (Local Government Association) to help progress and promote issues within the Local Government community of South Australia. The Chair Cr Andrew Tilley approved this approach.
- 11.5 Mrs Pauline Frost raised the position of a motion to be put at the NGA (National General Assembly) there will not be a general MDA Region 7 meeting before the deadline so proposed that the Executive Committee hold a meeting to determine a motion for this.

12. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the MDA Region 7 will be held on Thursday 22 August 2019 at the City of Campbelltown, commencing at 6.30 pm.

14. CLOSE 8:53pm

The Murray Darling Association acknowledges and thanks the City of Playford for its support in hosting this meeting of Region 7.

5.50